Just Babbling on a Wednesday Night

Standard

I was reading the September and October issues of Lire magazine to figure out what to buy of the novelties published in France this fall. So I have come up with the following list for French authors:

  • Christine Angot, Un amour impossible
  • Delphine de Vigan, D’après une histoire vraie
  • Sophie Divry, Quand le diable sortit de la salle de bain
  • Laurent Binet, La septième fonction du language
  • Christophe Boltanski, La cache
  • Antoine Compagnon, L’âge des lettres

For the foreign authors, I might dig into the following:

  • Jon Kalman Stefansson, D’ailleurs les poissons n’ont pas de pieds
  • Eirikur Orn Norddahl, Illska: Le Mal

I am also getting interested in some works by Richard Ford, Jim Harrison (there is a fascinating article about him in the October issue of Lire), and David Wallace Foster. And I think I will not resist getting the Henning Mankell memoire.

Actually I have bought five of these books already, to grace the TBR pile. I have also acquired the 2015 Giller Prize shortlist (see here). The winner was announced last night and I watched the one hour special on TV hosted by none other than Rick Mercer…

I have started reading the Laurent Binet novel. It is quite funny and perfect for a former sociology/literature student… Around the fact that Roland Barthes died one month after being struck by a delivery van in Paris, he invents a sort of conspiracy: Barthes was killed because of something he wrote and it was not an accident. While the police are investigating this possible murder, we run into Michel Foucault, Philippe Sollers, Umberto Eco, Julia Kristeva, and others, as well as the major political figures of the late 70s and early 80s. Incidentally, Antoine Compagnon is mentioned once so far (his book I have listed above is about Roland Barthes). I am about half way into the book and the investigation centers on a series of secret debating clubs called the Logos Club where the losers of official matches between high ranking club members get a finger chopped off. Pretty nasty!

I am still trying to advance my novel for NaNoWriMo (or as my husband say, “my creative writing project”), but at about 12 000 words so far, I have fallen about 6 000 words behind the plan. We will see this weekend to what extent I can catch up or whether I will just keep falling behind. Of course, I have tons of good excuses; there have been quite a few competing demands on my time. But the next weekend will be key… The following week will be the Salon du Livre de Montréal, and I will be spending some of my time there.

Oh yeah, and I still work full time.

One response »

  1. That’s a lot of reading ahead of you. The Giller prize went to the front runner I think. It’s imaginative but not one I want to read ( animals in books and I don’t make happy companions)

Leave a Reply

