Friday Night Ramblings: Crisis in Sylvie’s World

Standard

On Wednesday, big day at the office and I am on my way back home… I get into the subway and once on the platform, I take out my Kobo to get back into the latest novel (Colm Toibin’s Nora Webster). For some reason, at some point, I felt I had to take out my iPhone to look at my e-mail.  I am carrying my purse, my computer backpack, and now I have my Kobo and my iPhone out. Yes, you might be thinking there is way too much technology involved in this scene.

Fast forward to the bus terminal. I am waiting in line for the #1 bus to take me home. I am struggling with the stupid iPhone that keep giving me an error when I try to reply to a colleague’s e-mail who has a question I can answer quickly. However, it is now anything but quick… So I get on the bus, still carrying purse, backpack, iPhone in one hand, transit pass in the other. Picture this: long black skirt, flowing red tunic with ruffles, back asymmetric cardigan, and carrying all that stuff. No, I was not trying for the scarecrow look.

The Kobo has not been seen since.

What? Noooooooooooo!!!! Where is my Kobo?????

The only thing I can think of is that I put it on my lap when I took my iPhone out of my purse. My Kobo lives in a soft turquoise leather pouch. It must have fallen to the ground when I got up and was gathering my things and making sure I was not getting a wardrobe malfunction with all this fabric floating around me.

I’ll have to stop by the lost and found desk in the central hub station on my way to work on Monday and see if they have it. At least, it’s right on my way to the office. The transit company website says you have to wait about 48 hours before you inquire about lost objects.

4 responses »

  1. Checked a couple of times with lost and found department for the subway system, but no luck… Bought a new Kobo Aura.

    • Yes, Kobo apps on iPhone and on laptop, so I do still have access to the books I was reading. In the end, it would just be a pain in the butt having to buy another one and reload books on. I had that “naked feeling” for about two days and then reasoned it was really not a big deal, more of an annoyance, but I did go into a panic Wednesday evening when I was looking for the thing…

Leave a Reply

