Wednesday Night Ramblings 2013 04 10

Standard

I am having trouble concentrating on reading so I might as well spend some time writing. I just finished the Coursera MOOC on Fantasy and Science Fiction. I got to read a whole bunch of books I would not otherwise have gotten too. I am also digging into The Routledge Concise History of Science Fiction as well as a critical description of science fiction written by Guy Bouchard, who was at the time of publication a philosophy professor at Laval University in Québec City (most likely retired by now). I am also diving into Frank Herbert’s Dune and finishing to read H.G. Wells’ The Invisible Man.

I was so intensely into the Cory Doctorow book last weekend, it is hard now to get into something else. My mind is not yet quite ready to take on another universe. The “busyness” of the work day is also getting in the way of letting my mind wander into another world.

Because of the postings I made on science fiction books, I got “likes” and “comments” from people who did not seem to have visited my blog before. That’s cool. What is cooler is what I found when I visited theirs. I was particularly impressed with Jim Harris’ blog. He’s got lists of key sci fi works by decade as well as some commentary (and tons of other stuff too). I’m sure I’ll be visiting again.

 

References:

Bouchard, Guy, Les 42 210 univers de la science-fiction, Sainte-Foy : Le Passeur, 1993.

Bould, Mark and  Sherryl Vint, The Routledge Concise History of Science Fiction, New York and London: Routledge, 2011.

Herbert, Frank, Dune, New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 1965.

Wells, H.G., The Invisible Man. 1897. (Web edition published by eBooks@Adelaide)

  • jameswharris.wordpress.com
One response »

  1. Pingback: What is the difference between science fiction and fantasy? | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

