Reading With Tigers Around the World: Monday Night Ramblings

Gallery

Last month I read The Tiger’s Wife, by Téa Obreht, and I just finished Yann Martel’s Life of Pi. I once read The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga. While Martel did not use the word “tiger” in the title, the tiger does feature prominently in the book. So what more can I read since it seems I’m on a roll with tigers? I was perusing my bookshelf and I came upon Guillermo Cabrera Infante’s Tres tristes tigres. So what else could there be? Besides the Jungle Book? And preferably something that takes me to a different part of the world? So far, we have the Balkans, India to Mexico by way of the Pacific with a stop on an unnamed carnivorous island, India again, and Cuba. Let’s get some diversity!

The tiger makes for an interesting book character: It is large and scary, but at the same time beautiful and fascinating. You can practically see its ondulating walk across the page, you tremble in anticipation of its roar (Did you ever hear a large cat roar? I did once, in Indianapolis. I thought my heart was going to stop.). It is majestic and you can easily imagine it taking the lead roll, grab the story and run with it. But you could as well be mistaken and start thinking you could just pet it like your cat and that it might, just might, roll over and purr… without taking your head off first with a swipe of its gigantic paw. And what of metaphorical tigers, laying waste to the business world, or blood-thirsty rulers waiting to take their revenge on life-long enemies of the realm?

I look forward to reading your suggestions.

Leave a Reply

