A New Experiment

Standard

I decided to try something different. Again it relates to translation… I do try, as much as I can to read books in their original language. Of course, there are sever limitations to that, namely that I can only comfortably read three languages. Given my love of Scandinavian literature and my total ignorance of Scandinavian languages, I had been reading these authors in English or French.

So I tried something different this week. I bought a Norwegian police novel in Spanish. Now, that’s weird. I had mostly been reading Spanish-language literature in Spanish. After all, I did my Spanish literature degree to learn (1) the language, and (2) something about the culture of the various Spanish-speaking nations and cultures. Reading a Norwegian novel in Spanish is just so strange… The Spanish text and all the Norwegian names, street names, city names, etc. And there just seems to be such a clash between the way of thinking I associate with Spanish vs. Scandinavia.

Nonetheless the book is fun and the plot, so far, quite intriguing.

So, look this up: Gunnar Staalesen, Los círculos de la muerte. (or in English, The Consorts of Death.)

Leave a Reply

